Chaney High School receives state STEM excellence award

Local News
Chaney High School Exterior_93302

YOUNGSTOWN, Ohio (WYTV) – Chaney High School in Youngstown is one of 45 schools in the state to receive an award for excellence in STEM education.

The Thomas Edison Award of Excellence recognizes schools and teachers who stimulate student scientific research and extend opportunities beyond traditional classroom activities.

The school and nine of its teachers were selected for the award. Teachers awarded the honor include:

  • Brad Koopman
  • Greg Kinnison
  • Melissa Sternburg
  • Tim Bakos
  • Madonna Barwick
  • Benjamin Dooley
  • Stephanie Greathouse
  • Carrie Sinkele
  • Sharon Ragan
  • Robert Wyant
  • Pam Lubich

To qualify for the award, the schools needed to have at least 20 students participate in a science fair with at least one of them qualifying for the Ohio Academy of Science’s district science days. Schools also had to have students participate in science activities outside of the classroom, and convince STEM professionals that they have met these requirements.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Mel Robbins Main Area Middle

Trending on